I’m feeling a lot better today

Yesterday was the best day this week, until today. I woke feeling pretty refreshed. I’m eating every 2-3 hours to feel best and I did yoga for the 5th consecutive day. My only complaint, aside from a little tiredness, is that I probably overdid it with the yoga today because it felt good while I was doing it, but my body is aching! Hopefully after a good night’s sleep my muscles will feel more refreshed too.

I also figured out how to drink more water… drink bottled water. I tried some while out today and it was delicious. I’m almost up to a gallon of water consumed today and it’s been almost all bottled water. I have a filter for our water dispenser in the refrigerator, and it was replaced not long ago, but my taste buds are altered and I just can’t drink it. Bottled water, on the other hand, tastes almost sweet to me and I can drink it with ease. I will be going to the grocery store and filling jugs with spring water for the next several months. It’s not the idea situation for the environment, but it’s the best situation for me right now.

But something I wanted to talk about are support groups. I think I mentioned last week that I joined a facebook group for people with inflammatory breast cancer. It is actually a great source of information, but I have to be in the right frame of mind otherwise I get down.

Sometimes when I go on there, I hear some horrible stories, either with the person’s family life situation or else with their cancer prognosis, or worse yet, that someone has died. I have to limit my time there. Other times though, like last night, I feel better with what I read. I actually participated in a roll call on the group and felt so much better. They asked for people to give something positive that had happened for them. I actually participated, which is not my usual M.O., and told about how my breast has noticeably shrunk in size since starting chemotherapy. I got a few like and congratulatory remarks made, but I also had someone else who said the same thing happened to her, and that when they analyzed her breast after the mastectomy there was NO CANCER FOUND. I really hope that happens for me too and I felt so much better after reading that. Something uplifting.

I’m thinking of going the “real life” support group at Duke. It meets on Wednesday afternoon, I need to find the paper to see what time and where, but I thought it might be nice to chat with people about some of the challenges we are going through. I don’t want to get really down about things, but it might be nice to have someone mention something and me realize that I’m not the only one feeling that way… or not. I don’t know.

I also wanted to thank everyone who has sent me a letter or card. It really brightens my day to get “real mail” and it be someone giving me inspiration and love. So thank you all! I love you all!

2 thoughts on “I’m feeling a lot better today”

  1. A real life support group sounds great. Also check to see if they offer Reiki and such. Your spirit sounds great Brandi and that means so much. Try to find some reasons to laugh too. It feels great and stimulates your immune system. I wish we were closer to give you more support but please know with all think about you and send our love.

Leave a Reply

