Weaning… earlier than hoped

Weaning was not something I thought I would NEED to do any time soon… unfortunately, I needed to start it a couple days ago. I thought I would actually have a couple weeks to do it before starting chemotherapy. I didn’t realize that getting a port inserted would be quite so painful and that I wouldn’t be able to pick up my son for almost two weeks (because he’s well over the 5-10 pounds I’m allowed to lift). Additionally, I was only able to nurse him on my left side, and since the port is on my left side I can’t actually tolerate anyone touching it, let alone resting a big heavy head on it!

 

Despite the weaning happening sooner than I thought it would, we have been doing alright. I couldn’t have done it without the help of my mom and my husband. I usually take care of Finn overnight on my own since Jim has to go to work in the morning, but since I can’t lift him, I can’t take care of him on my own. Mom and Jim have been getting up with him overnight and laying with him to help him sleep. I have actually been getting the best sleep I’ve had since Finn was born… the one good thing from this cancer diagnosis 😉

 

We have switched back to bottles instead of sippy cups and he occasionally plays/sucks on a pacifier which he hasn’t used since he was 9 months old, but he is coping. I know there have been a lot of changes for Finn, and I feel horrible about that, but I’m grateful for the help I’ve received and I hope that we continue to keep moving along. I’d also like to thank my favorite lactation consultant, Mona Liza Hamlin.

 

I’d be remiss in not mentioning my sister, Sara. She has been here for the last few days and in addition to being a fantastic aunt to Finn, she has been a great sister to me. She helped me with my going to the hospital for more tests and procedures. She gave Finn the cuddles that I haven’t been able to to the last few days and I’ll miss her now that she has gone back to SC.

 

Leave a Reply

