Cashel to Kilkenney to Howth… what a day!

I left out of my B&B Tueday morning and headed back to Cashel to check out the photo shop now that it was open… no dice:(  They didn’t have any Olympus stuff.  So I got back in my car and drove to Kilkenney.  I was told it would take about 1 hour to get there and it only took me about 40 minutes but by the time I actually found the Castle it was an hour (I drove past the intersection twice in two different directions before I turned around AGAIN and made my way to the castle.  My guidebook recommended parking in the lot in front of the Castle but there was no lot… just road works!  Another turn around… Finally I parked on the street and made my way into town.

Even before seeing the castle I wanted to find some way to use my camera.  I walked for a bit before finding the photo shop I was told about and then went in.  Not really much for Olympus camera but a universal litihium ion battery charger WITH car charger.  Yeah!  It was forty euros but a necessary evil.  Without it I would have ended up buying a new camera altogether and have to deal with charging that battery back in the states.

As it turns out it wasn’t necessary (too much) in Kilkenney because you werent’ allowed to take photos inside the castle.  So I watched the video, walked all around the castle… one room had silk fabric on the walls! and then went outside to check out the castle grounds.  Finally I went back to the car, got my battery, charger and instructions and started charging my battery.  It was working!

I was going to go to the Wicklow Mountains on the way to Dublin but I didn’t want to take the extra time and end up on the M50 around Dublin at rush hour, so I bypassed it.  Maybe I’ll check it out some time this week as a day trip.

I am so glad I went through Dublin when I did because I think I would have had a heart attack if I went there in true rushhour.  As it was, there were so many spots of road works with concrete barriers on the sides of the roads that I was gripping the steering wheel for my life.  Plus people randomnly stopping in the road.  I nearly had an accident, for the first time since having my car, and I just wanted to get to my B&B.

It took me a little while to figure my way out but I got to the Howth peninsula and found my poorly marked, but nice and quiet B& B.  Again, no one was there but I sat in the drive and finished my book. 

After the owner arrived home I checked in and went to Howth town to walk around and get some supper.  It was really beautiful to walk up on the pier and see all around you.

howth

I walked through the town a bit and then had an ice cream cone with a flake bar stuck in the side of it.  It was delicious.  After more walking I decided to get supper and had a box of fish and chips.  Delicious!

supper

Leave a Reply

