I’ve arrived…

no I haven’t made it in the big time but I have managed to get to Ireland after semi-planning it for about two years. 

My flight landed at the Shannon airport on the west coast of Ireland a little before 0900 (0500 for those of you on the east coast of the US).  After getting out of the plane and finding my checked bag I headed to the Hertz car rental place to pick up my car.  I won’t tell you too much about it now, I’ll update later with photos… here’s a hint: I upgraded.

Let me tell you, it does take some getting used to driving on the left side of the road.  I kept feeling like I was going to hit one of the many stone walls that just happened to be right next to my lane.  I was expecting the roads to be narrow and I was not disappointed.  I managed to find my way to the B&B outside Galway where I will be staying tonight and tomorrow night.  Having just had a nice bath and change of clothes I am going to go for a little walk to get some fresh air and some sustinance… I ate as best I could in the airport at JFK and on the airplane but didn’t end up eating anything but a Coca-Cola and  Cadbury Crunchie on the way from Shannon to Galway.

As I said, I will update this better tomorrow after I take some pictures and get some much needed rest.  I managed to sleep about 8 hours in the last forty-eight, needless to say I am exhausted.  Just wanted to let everyone know that I am here safe and sound.

Hey Rob: when I got my rental car they charged me almost 100 euros for the gas tank being full, do I get that money back when I return the car with a full tank of gas?  the man asked me about buying the gas and I said that I would fill it up before returning it.  I guess I should get that money back… let me know since you rent cars somewhat frequently.  i was not paying close enough attention to the paperwork when I signed for the car so I didn’t realize what the made the cost be so high (besides the upgrade:))

5 thoughts on “I’ve arrived…”

  1. glad you arrived safely. I look forward to seeing pictures, and getting all the other info. Hope you were able to get some rest. Take care.

    hey jenn… have you checked out the photos? i just got around to replying to people’s comments, sorry, hope you like what you see? see you in a little over a week!

  2. Brandi- First, glad you made it Ireland! I called Hertz Int. and they told me it sounds like they just put a hold on your credit card for the $100 euros until you drop off the car with the full tank of gas. Have a great time!
    rob

    did i tell you thanks for calling the company?? THANKS… and everything worked out this morning. all i paid extra for ws the insurance and the upgrade… no fuel charge! see you later

  3. Glad you made it!!!!!! Have fun and come home with lots of stories!
    Linda J

    hey linda j – how’s the wedding coming? thank you for your comment, sorry it took so long to reply, i’m a slacker:) see you later

Leave a Reply

